News at MPA

New research group to study multiple star systems at MPA

November 11, 2019

In September 2019 a new Max Planck Research Group started at MPA: Adrian Hamers joined the institute and is currently building up his group to research multiple star systems. Such systems are of high importance in astrophysics, since they may lead to violent astrophysical phenomena such as Type Ia supernovae and gravitational wave events. The main goal is to use both fast and detailed modeling to make statistical predictions for observations of supernovae and gravitational waves.

A crisis in cosmology

Keck Press Release: A group of astronomers led by UC Davis with contributions from MPA scientists has obtained new data that suggest the universe is expanding more rapidly than predicted. The team’s new measurement of the Hubble Constant is based on observations of three gravitationally-lensed systems: Sherry Suyu worked closely with her previous student and first author Geoff Chih-Fan Chen on modeling the mass distribution of the lenses, which is necessary for inferring the Hubble constant. Stefan Hilbert quantified mass structures along the line of sight to the lens systems and their effect on H0. Simona Vegetti is a core member of the SHARP team in acquiring the Keck AO imaging data on which the analysis is based. Inh Jee investigated the effect of anisotropy of stellar orbits on the lensing distance measurements that are used to infer H0.

MPG Advent Calendar

Our online science advent calendar is back! Each day until December 24, we will open a door of our advent calender for you to dazzle you with images from science and provide the scientific background to the image. Enjoy!

This year's background image of our advent calendar takes us far north. Nowhere else is climate change so starkly visible: the Arctic sea ice is melting faster than ever before, and by the end of this century, the North Pole could be completely free of ice in the summer.

December 2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31

Upcoming seminars

Hunting the unknowns!

Dec 12, 2019 11:00 - 12:00
Max-Planck-Institut für Physik / MPP, (Werner-Heisenberg-Institut), Föhringer Ring 6, 80805 München , Room: Seminar Room 313

The Higgs and Cosmology

Dec 12, 2019 14:00 - 15:00
TUM Physics Department, Garching, Room: HS 3

First results from the KATRIN experiment and the search for sterile neutrinos

Dec 12, 2019 15:15 - 16:00
ESO, Room: Auditorium "Eridanus"

A Deep Learning Approach to Galaxy Cluster X-ray Masses

Dec 13, 2019 14:00 - 15:00
MPE, Room: X5, 1.4.12

Aus dem Gleichgewicht – wie Wärmeflüsse dem frühen Leben auf die Sprünge halfen

Jan 14, 2020 19:00 - 20:30
Muffatwerk, Zellstr. 4 (S-Bahn, Isartor / Rosenheimer Platz)

About MPA


Managing Director
Prof. Dr. Volker Springel

Scientific Members, Kollegium, Directors
Prof. Dr. Guinevere Kauffmann
Prof. Dr. Eiichiro Komatsu
Prof. Dr. Volker Springel

Emeritus Scientific Members
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hillebrandt
Prof. Dr. Rashid Sunyaev
Prof. Dr. Simon White

External Scientific Members
Prof. Dr. Martin Asplund
Prof. Dr. Rolf-Peter Kudritzki
Prof. Dr. Werner Tscharnuter

Head of the administration
Hendrik Wanger


Press and Public Relations
Dr. Hannelore Haemmerle
Phone: 089 30000-3980
Cornelia Rickl
Phone: 089 30000-2201
Dr. Hans-Thomas Janka
Phone: 089 30000-2228


Go to Editor View